Former WA Lib ministers concede to Labor

Two former Barnett government ministers have conceded defeat to Labor as counting continues in Western Australia following the party’s landslide state election win.


The incoming McGowan government is predicted to end up with 41 seats out of a 59-seat parliament, while the Liberals are expected to win just 13 seats and the Nationals five.

Labor’s Kevin Michel has taken the seat of Pilbara from outgoing Nationals leader Brendon Grylls, and Labor’s Yaz Mubarakai has taken the seat of Jandakot from Liberal frontbencher Joe Francis.

Mr Grylls conceded after suffering a swing of around 13.5 per cent, which strongly suggests his high-risk mining tax proposal backfired.

Mr Francis conceded after losing by a swing of 19.3 per cent in what was considered a very safe Liberal seat.

The former minister for corrective and emergency services spoke openly on Tuesday about how his party failed, and before losing his seat was hoping for a shot at the Liberals leadership as outgoing premier Colin Barnett returns to the back bench.

Leadership speculation is now focused on former deputy premier Liza Harvey and Treasurer Mike Nahan, with Sean L’Estrange saying he wouldn’t compete for the position.

Counting continues for Joondalup, Kingsley and Murray-Wellington, with Labor nudging ahead of the Liberals.

If Andrea Mitchell loses Kingsley, that will bring the number of ministers from the Barnett government who have lost their seats to seven.

The Nationals look set to lose Kalgoorlie to the Liberal’s Kyran O’Donnell, as well as an upper house seat.

One Nation leader Colin Tincknell is assured a seat in the upper house and the party may get a second in the legislative council, according to ABC election analyst Antony Green.

Final numbers for the upper house are not confirmed, but Mr Green predicts Labor will have 14 seats, the Liberals 10, the Nationals four, the Greens three, Shooters Fishers and Farmers two, and one seat for the Liberal Democrats.